Dervish and Ellie

Dervish                 : Have you ever baked fish in stick by flame?

Ellie                         : No, but I’m pretty sure this is the right way.

Dervish                 : How could you know that?

Ellie                         : I watch television. Quite easy, I think. I just forgot the exact way.

Dervish                 : Is it done?

Ellie                         : Soon, it will be ready.

Dervish                 : (turned back)

Ellie                         : What’s wrong?

Dervish                 : I think I heard something.

Ellie                         : Please, don’t! I’m scared enough with all these!

Dervish                 : Don’t worry. (took AK-47) Fortunately we found this AK-47 in the plane, plus with the ammos.

Ellie                         : I still can’t believe they could bring that weapon into the plane; I mean, through all the very tight security check…

Dervish                 : I more likely think that there are inside men.

Ellie                         : Well, apparently…

Dervish                 : (cut) They’re failed.

Ellie                         : Shame on them.

Dervish                 : (suddenly fired the weapon to the bushes)

Ellie                         : (shocked) What is it? Is it a hit?

Dervish                 : (walked to the bushes, tried to find something between the bushes) Hmmmm… (pulled out the head of a tiger) Tiger!

Ellie                         : (gasped) Is there any other?

Dervish                 : (looked around, dropped the tiger’s head) I don’t know. Let’s just keep your ears sharp, and sleep on the trees then.

Ellie                         : Agree. It’s done!

Dervish                 : Finally!

Ellie                         : (gave the fish in stick to Dervish) Wow! Just one shot, and you did it!

Dervish                 : Well, people could do anything in some sort of dangerous situation.

Ellie                         : Still, if I were you, I would run to the top of trees instead of shooting.

Dervish                 : Come on! You praise me too much!

Ellie                         : (chuckled)

Dervish                 : (chewed the fish) Alright, this is good.

Ellie                         : (swallowed the fish) I told you

Dervish                 : Do you really think they will…

Ellie                         : I don’t want to talk about the contrary.

Dervish                 : I mean… we have to be ready for everything. In case they don’t get the SOS…

Ellie                         : Then we will have to look for the beach.

Dervish                 : Still…

Ellie                         : The only way to be rescued is to send SOS message to them. If they don’t get it, we’re doomed. It doesn’t differ.

Dervish                 : Okay, okay.

Ellie                         : Are you sure there’s no more tiger?

Dervish                 : Just keep your ears sharp.

Ellie                         : It would be better if we could see them.

Dervish                 : indeed, but it’s night already; we can’t see well, moreover in this jungle.

Ellie                         : If only I had eyes of eagle…

Dervish                 : Cat.

Ellie                         : …eyes of cat… (stopped)

Dervish                 : If only I had wing of eagle…

Ellie                         : Now that’s a better wish.

Dervish                 : Thanks. (threw the stick away)

Ellie                         : (threw the stick away)

Dervish                 : (thinking) I don’t understand. What was really happening anyway?

Ellie                         : What? Where were you? Everyone was scared at that time.

Dervish                 : I was in toilet. I was so tired, so I take a break for a while, until I just slept… until there was turbulence.

Ellie                         : Lucky you! They started taking us as hostages while you sleep quietly in toilet like nothing happened!

Dervish                 : Airplane hijacking?

Ellie                         : Yes. But then one of the passengers attack one of the terrorists, and then he accidentally shoot a window.

Dervish                 : Just once?

Ellie                         : Of course just once!

Dervish                 : Then how could be the plane destroyed that awful?!

Ellie                         : We were about… thirty thousand feet from the ground. The entire plane was shaking frighteningly.

Dervish                 : Wow! Everyone must be screaming.

Ellie                         : Indeed. And few moments ago, the hole had become worse. Everything in the plane had been sucked outside. People, suitcase…. Mention it.

Dervish                 : And then I came out…

Ellie                         : …we fell together…

Dervish                 : …you accidentally caught a parachute…

Ellie                         : …and I opened it for both of us.

Dervish                 : And we’re safe.

Ellie                         : And sound.

Dervish                 : Do you think there are other survivors?

Ellie                         : They might be already ingested by bears or tigers or lions or… whatever in the forest. You see that tiger? It’s little change for them to have weapon like us.

Dervish                 : Poor them.

Ellie                         : They’re able to be considered as ‘dead’ already. There’s no use of pitying them anymore.

Dervish                 : As well as the terrorists?

Ellie                         : Guess so. They should be able to spot the fire hours ago.

Dervish                 : They hijacked the plane and they shot a window to their own deaths? (laughed)

Ellie                         : (chuckle) Yeah, that’s quite funny, indeed.

Dervish                 : Say, (drank water) what are you gonna do in Australia?

Ellie                         : Oh, it’s yearly visiting my family. They moved four years ago for business affairs, while I stayed in Harvard. What about you?

Dervish                 : it’s just a holiday. Nothing’s personal or business.

Ellie                         : Alone?

Dervish                 : I have no one to take with me. They’re all jerks.

Ellie                         : I’m sorry.

Dervish                 : Thanks.

Ellie                         : Still you just go to Australia… only for a holiday?

Dervish                 : I can’t move to Australia that easy! I’m just accounting employee!

Ellie                         : Hey, how if you join us? My dad and my mom can find a house and a job for you!

Dervish                 : They will?

Ellie                         : I will. And you will. You saved me.

Dervish                 : You did save me.

Ellie                         : Alright, we saved each other. Besides, last time my mom said that he needed a personal assistant. I can help you. Really!

Dervish                 : Oh, gosh… that’s… that’s very…

Ellie                         : Coincidence?

Dervish                 : Kind. How can I repay you?

Ellie                         : You do. We’re still sitting and breathing here, in the middle of unknown forest…. Anyway, we should be thinking about how to survive instead.

Dervish                 : Right. Still no signal?

Ellie                         : (took her cell phone from her pocket) There’s no change for even weak signal in here. We can only hope they’re still looking for survivors.

Dervish                 : But in this time? (looked to the dark sky above him)

Ellie                         : Which means it’s very likely that, as you said, we will sleep on trees.

Dervish                 : (sighed) Maybe I shouldn’t go.

Ellie                         : What!? And leaving me!?

Dervish                 : Well, if I hadn’t gone, I think you would be fine, for you’re the one who found the AK-47.

Ellie                         : You’re the one who know how at least to use it. If I were you, I would swing it as a bat only.

Dervish                 : Hm. Make sense.

Ellie                         : (suddenly shut) Listen!

(helicopter sound)

Ellie                         : It’s them! We’re safe! (jumped) We’re finally safe!

Dervish                 : Wait!

Ellie                         : What’re you waiting for?

Dervish                 : It might be the terrorists.

Ellie                         : You’re not serious.

Dervish                 : We can’t be sure. Get your pistol ready.

Ellie                         : (took her pistol from her pocket and pulled the grip safety)

(the helicopter came to them, a rope ladder rolled down)

Man #1                 : Come on!

Dervish                 : Get one of your men down here first!

Ellie                         : Now! Before I shoot you!

(the rescue time didn’t replied for a moment, Ellie shot to the sky)

Man #1                 : Alright, alright!

(one of them came down)

Dervish                 : Nice.

Man #2                 : (looking at them) What…

Ellie                        : How could we know that you’re not a terrorist?!

Man #2                 : What… what do you mean?

Dervish                 : Just answer…

Man #2                 : I’m not a terrorist! I’m just a rescue team!

Ellie                        : And how can we trust you?

Man #2                 : Trust me! I’m not harmful! You can keep your gun to shoot me!

Ellie                        : (looking to Dervish) What do you think?

Dervish                 : (thinking hard) Alright! Do anything suspicious and you’re dead!

Leave a Reply

