Harry

via Daily Prompt: Aware

The day was heavily rainy in the middle of New York. And since they were so tired from their job in their office, they agreed to stay in the bistro and spend possibly hundreds of dollars, even if they had to stay there until the next morning. They sat on a table, right next to the glass. He had to admit: the view of New York City in rain inside a warm bistro through glass had its own unique beauty, not to mention mushroom soup and tea he already had.

“So you started dating her?” asked Harry, sipping his coffee slowly.

“Yeah! I’m so excited!” answered Michael.

“Since when?” said Harry.

“A week ago. I know, it’s just recently, and probably suddenly.” said Michael. “But anyway, it’s dream come true! Can you believe it?”

“Ha. Barely.” said Harry, calmly. “I take it that she likes you?”

“Yeah, of course!” assured Michael.

He looked at Harry’s face. He looked calm and almost daydreaming. At first he thought it was just his habit, but he was unsure. Like, there was something new and different from it, for the past week, but he couldn’t be sure of what it was. So he asked, “What is it?”

“What… oh… erm… well… I… I don’t want to make trouble… but… er… I just… I happened to meet her yesterday.” said Harry.

“Oh, really?” said Michael.

“Yeah, and… I thought that was you with her… but… I realized, I mean… your hair wasn’t long at all…”

“Wait… what do you mean?”

“Like I said… I thought she was with you, but apparently it wasn’t you.” said Harry. “I think… I think she was with someone else yesterday…”

“Are you sure…?”

“I was pretty sure. I know Jessica… look, I don’t want to make a problem between you two…”

“Where? When? With who?” said Michael, trying to keep his voice low.

“I don’t know… I saw them going toward the… what’s the name?”

“What name?” asked Michael. He held his urge to shake his body.

“The hotel… near the park…”

“The Plaza Hotel?”

“Yeah! The Plaza Hotel, about eight, I guess…” said Harry. “I don’t know who he is… he has pigtail for sure…”

Michael sighed heavily. Harry added, “Like I said, I don’t want to make you two… you know…”

“I can’t… I can’t even… I appreciate it. I just can’t believe… it’s just been a week…!”

“I know. I can’t believe it either.” said Harry. He laughed nervously, “Women, I guess.”

“If so, we should just make love with each other.” said Michael sarcastically.

“So… what now? Are you going to… what are you going to do?” said Harry.

“I don’t know…” said Michael. He took some notes from his wallet, and put it on the table. “But I gotta go.”

“It’s still raining.” said Harry.

“I’ll be fine. It’s for you, too.” said Michael. “Well, thanks for telling me, anyway.”

“S-Sure…” stuttered Harry.

“See you tomorrow.” said Michael. He, without question and hesitation, took his briefcase and rushed toward the door. He let himself showered; he didn’t even run fast avoiding the rain. The light traffic was red, so he took the chance to cross the road.

As he reached to the other side of the road, he looked back. He used his left hand to cover his eyes. It was quite clear. He saw Harry still sitting on his chair, sipping his coffee with a smile. His eyes was looking to air, proving that he was back to daydreaming; he wasn’t even notice that Michael was staring at him across the road. He had befriended him for about a year, but for the first time ever, he could tell confidently what he was thinking at the moment from his smile. On the other side, he wanted to laugh. He was with Jessica yesterday at the cinema straight from the office, until midnight. He couldn’t believe how Mort was right all the time about him. He could just shook his head. he then decided to walk away.

Leave a Reply

